Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Fishy Taco

My Career Decision, Corporate Finance Vs Marketing (asking for opinions).

Hey guys, it´s been while.

Just wanted to present to you my dilemma: 

I never had a "clear passion" or any idea of what to do with my life but I´ve always had an interest in bussiness, im in my Second Semester of a Marketing degree, which I like, but im thinking of switching to Finance because it seems more adequate for me, for example I do best in my Accounting and Finance mathematics classes while in Marketing related courses not so much, so I have more interest in Marketing but seem to be better at Finance and numbers in general, most of my class mates in marketing are extroverts with tons of friends while me,well... So it seems that I would develop better in a Finance career but I dont know if I would like it. 

Another aspect is that Finance seems like a more secure career (steadier employment chances,easier to climb up the ladder,etc.) while Marketing looks like a good choice for the future since diferentiation of products becomes more relevant as time passes.

So what do you guys think? should I go with what I´m better at but not very interested in and hope I learn to love it (finance)?  or go with what I like but im not good at? 

(Sorry if I make spelling mistakes or bad redaction, im not a native speaker )

One of my best friends from high school got a marketing degree from OU and now she's a flight attendant. Finance is better than marketing IMO. Maybe be a CPA?

I've worked in both of these industry's and I can tell you that marketing would be a much more rewarding job. Different product launches, different strategies, meeting lots of people etc...