Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

camelFun

Stepping Down

Welp, I've been thinking about this for a while now.

For as long as I've been in sG I've been unemployed and out of school—That's just over three years this month now. For two of those years I've been an Engineer here, given a chance by Josh to make a theme, then given a chance by the rest of Staff to keep doing it and more. I've put a lot of what I've learned in college before dropping out to use here, and learned a lot more still... but it's time I get my shit together in reality instead of living in this proverbial limbo where there is an online world I once dedicated 100% of my time to, but now have as an itch that cannot be scratched, or a pressure that shouldn't feel like pressure just waiting there in the back of my mind.

Over these three years I've done some extremely unhealthy things and shown signs of mental illness. I'd like to say it's a byproduct of having thrown aside my life as it was and embrace a gluttonous escapism where the moment I take off my headphones it's as if nothing ever happened. I imagine it like that scene in Scrubs where Dr. Kelso makes all these decisions without caring for the well-being of his patients, then the moment he takes one step outside of the hospital it's as if nothing that day ever happened, and he's cheery as can be. In my case it's like this profound denial, and it's extremely unhealthy, and really, only remedied by not allowing myself to block out all sense of dignity and courtesy with illusion.

You've all dealt with some crazy shit I've done in the past, but still trusted me to keep doing what I'd been doing.