Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dr. NarwhalsNumbNuts IV

PC Building First Time

I'm finally financially able to build a new PC this summer. I'm very excited and I just want to build something that'll run Runescape at 4K Kappa I need it to run almost any current game at 1080p/+, possibly VR, and be relatively future proof. I understand as parts age and new tech/games come out, I'll have to swap out parts. Is this build suitable for that? 

That being said, I'm hoping for a sub $1,000 build, but flexible. I have no previous experience building. Take at look at my PC Part Picker and advise me on what to drop, add, modify.

Thanks for reading! Expect a lot of noob questions. 

If you can afford the extra $200, this is way better

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/nCtrBP

You were missing a few things: One being an SSD, do not buy a fucking mechanical drive to have Windows on it. Your computer will be slow as shit.

Second, do not cheap out on a shit case like that, I updated one that is more respectable, however I'd recommend going for a Fractal Design R4 which is around $100.

Third, I upgraded your PSU to a fully modular, which allows you to cable manage better. Should you wish you to keep the current PSU you have, you can.

If the build is still too expensive, you can choose to go down to a 128GB SSD, since it should only be for Windows and high use games. 

Everything else is fine.

Just now, Sean said:

If you can afford the extra $200, this is way better

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/nCtrBP

You were missing a few things: One being an SSD, do not buy a fucking mechanical drive to have Windows on it. Your computer will be slow as shit.

Second, do not cheap out on a shit case like that, I updated one that is more respectable, however I'd recommend going for a Fractal Design R4 which is around $100.