Sign in to follow this  
Serif The Sheriff

Night Elf Entangling Roots change

I was told as soon as I started playing again that there had been some changes to NE, mostly nerfs, which is no big deal, still my favorite race and if it helps balancing then that's great. However the one thing I am curious about is the change to NE's entangle to make it a LOS instead of AOE. From what I understood talking to people on the server, the change happened mostly because it was cheap for a NE to spam the ult and hit people through walls and basically have wall hacks. Since I wasn't around when this change was happening I am not sure what other ideas people had to try and balance that or if there were other ideas, but did anyone suggest removing the lines that are drawn to the entangled player?

This would make it so if you heard someone walking towards you but they are around a corner, or if you hear them on the other side of a door or wall you can still entangle them and use that to your advantage without being shown exactly where they are. For example, on Italy in tunnel, if I am on T and a CT is running up the tunnel I could hide around the corner and once I hear him getting closer I can entangle him then turn the corner and fight, since there is no line I don't know exactly where he is and still have to make a guess based on what I could hear just like anyone without entangle would have to, the only difference is that I can freeze him in place and prevent him from getting into cover or coming around the corner when I don't want him to. With the LOS you can't do that, and from what I was told you also can't entangle people behind you which means if you are trying to run away and someone is chasing you you would have to turn around to entangle them instead of just running away.

Any thoughts?

That was the problem in the first place you could camp a corner and freeze peek people without them being able to do anything...

Edit: and so it begins... :|

Edited by xmen